The Living World


The Living World logoSubject: Biology    Exam: AIPMT / NEET-UG

Chapter Rating: Do or Die (Most Important)

Topic Weightage: 0.06

Practice QuestionsRevise Chapter

Start a discussion on this chapter

Posting your doubt

Post Discussion

Doubts and Discussions on this chapter

My Chapter Prep Status

Chapter Completion: 0%

Your GEM Score: 0

Check your Good Enough Meter (GEM)

Chapter Expert Trophy

Sarvesh Kumar S...

How can you win?
You need to score more than 5506 marks to beat Sarvesh Kumar Singh

Others In The Race!
nidhi , rashi, Vaibhav Sonkar

Important Points

The system of grouping of living forms on the basis of similarities and differences is called classification. The branch of biology concerned with classification is called taxonomy.
Natural classification: This system of classification involves categorization of the living organisms into broad groups (or divisions) on the basis of large number of their characters (both similarities and dissimilarities).
The system of classification of organisms which is based on large number of characteristics and also reflects their evolutionary relationships is called phylogenetic classification.
Biodiversity means the diversity of life forms.
Five-kingdom system of classification
1. KingdomMonera (prokaryotic bacteria and blue-green algae).
2. Kingdom Protista (unicellular eukaryotic organisms, like protozoans and algae).
3. Kingdom Fungi (multicellular fungi).
4. Kingdom Plantae (all multicellular green plants advanced forms of algae).
5. Kingdom Animalia (all multicellular animals)
Sign Up to Study The Living World