Formulae on Animal Kingdom


Remembering the division of the animal kingdom (in order)
Kingdom, Phylum, Class, Order, Family, Genus, Species
King Paul Called Out For Gus and Sam

Urochordata is also called Tunicata since the adult body is enclosed within a leathery test or Tunic made of cellulose like Tunicin. Their feeding apparatus is called endostyle. They also show paedogenesis (=reproduction by larva). Notable Urochordates/Tunicates are sea squirt (Herdmania), Doliolum and Salpa. Cephalochordata have notochord extending from tail upto cephalic region. Nerve cord is tubular and hollow to notochord. Pharynx is surrounded by a large chamber called Atrium which opens to the outside by an aperture called Atriopore. Notable example is Branchiostoma (=Amphioxus)

Gnathostomata are divisible into five classes: Pisces, Amphibia, Reptilia, Aves and Mammalia. The last four classes are put occasionally together in a group Tetrapoda. Reptilia, Aves and Mammalia collectively may be called Amniota since their embryo is surrounded development by a membrane called Amnion enclosing a private little 'pond' of amnionic fluid around the embryo. Pisces and Amphibia (also called Anamniota together) have mesonephric kidney whereas the Amniota have more efficient metanephric kidney.

More Formulae are available as a part of the SMART Subscription

Preparation Tip for You!
Read the Tips? Now why don't you try solving a few questions in the Practice Lounge

Practice Questions Now

Sign Up to see Formulae for Animal Kingdom